Subscribe via RSS Feed

Fall 2017: Other Significant Articles

Paul Strand, “Awaken the Dawn: A Weekend of Worship Fills the National Mall” CBNNews.com (October 8, 2017).

 

Mark Galli, “What to Make of Karl Barth’s Steadfast Adultery: Do the recent revelations discredit his theology?Christianity Today (October 20, 2017).

 

Melissa Archer, “For the Love of God” Ecclesiam.com (October 3, 2017).

“[T]here is racism in the Church.”

 

Leah Payne, “Why Female Theologians Take Flak in the Public Square: The potential rewards of celebrity culture are many, but so are the risks” CT Women (October 12, 2017).
John Piper, “Risk Your Kids for the Kingdom?: On Taking Children to Unreached Peoples” DesiringGod.org (October 23, 2017).

“No matter how many Western, comfort-assuming, security-demanding, risk-avoiding Christians think otherwise, the truth is that there are worse risks for our children than death. This is simple Bible-reality. Not easy. Just simple. It is not complex or hard to grasp. There are things vastly worse than death. Wasting your life is worse than losing it.”

 

Hannah Anderson, “The Unsettling Truth Behind the #MeToo Movement: Creating a safer world for women means talking about our vulnerabilityChristianity Today (October 2017).

 

Graham Hill, “4 Ways to Recover Life in the Power of the Spirit and the Word” GlobalChurchProject.com (October 27, 2017).

 

 “Global Pentecostalism and the Spirit-Baptized Church” (October 27, 2017).

Frank D. Macchia and Graham Hill discuss global Pentecostalism and the Spirit-baptized church.

 

J. Lee Grady, “We Really Need Another Reformation” Fire in My Bones (November 1, 2017).

“In honor the 500th anniversary of the Reformation, I’m offering my own list of needed reforms in the modern charismatic/Pentecostal movement.”

 

Michael R. Lyles, “Is Your Church Healthy for People with Mental Illness?: 3 ways your congregation can embrace those with mental disorders” CTPastors (October 2017).

Our churches, of all places on earth, should be places of healing. God help us. “‘I feel so alone at church. I invite people over for meals and try to make friends. But when they find out that I am bipolar, they either preach to me about sin and healing or ignore me.’”

 

Paul Hattaway, “The Two Sides of God – Gaining a Balanced View of the BibleAsia Harvest 145 (November 2017).

A challenging excerpt from Paul Hattaway’s biography, An Asian Harvest. Read his interview with PneumaReview.com: “God Has Done Something Remarkable.”

 

David Zahl, “500 Years After Luther, We Still Feel the Pressure to Be Justified: Luther’s law/gospel insight is as brilliant as ever—especially in 21st century AmericaChristianity Today (Jan/Feb 2017).

 

Chara Donahue, “Counseling Others When You Have Your Own ‘Me Too’ Story: How to walk alongside sexual assault victims when you’ve been a victim yourself” WomenLeaders.com (October 30, 2017).

“There are a number of ways women can deal with sexual assault. We can deal with it head on, push it down deep in attempts to hide it from memory, or let memories haunt us for a lifetime as they replay over and over in our minds. The redeeming choice is to take it to Jesus and do the work needed to find healing. I encourage you that if you have your own ‘me too’ story and you haven’t done this, start here.”

 

Harriet Sherwood, “Literal interpretation of Bible ‘helps increase church attendance': Study finds conservative theology mixed with innovative worship approach helps Protestant churches grow congregationsThe Guardian (November 17, 2016).

Recommended by Rachel M.

 

Mark Galli, “Evangelical Distinctives in the 21st Century: The first in a series on the meaning and place of a historic movement” Christianity Today (November 2017).

 

Frank Viola, “Kingdom Myth 7: The kingdom of God is the equivalent of signs, miracles, and wonders” FrankViola.org (December 13, 2017).

Image: Sam Wheeler

 

Pin It
Page 2 of 212

Tags: , , ,

Category: Fall 2017

About the Author: The PneumaReview.com editors are Raul Mock, Mike Dies, Joe Joslin, and Jim Dettmann with significant input from other writers including John Lathrop, Amos Yong, Tony Richie, and Kevin Williams.

  • Connect with PneumaReview.com

    Subscribe via Twitter 1271 Followers   Subscribe via Facebook Fans
  • Recent Comments

  • Featured Authors

    Amos Yong is Professor of Theology & Mission and director of the Center for Missiological Research at Fuller Theological Seminary, Pasadena. His graduate education includes degree...

    Jelle Creemers: Theological Dialogue with Classical Pentecostals

    Craig S. Keener, Ph.D. (Duke University), is F. M. and Ada Thompson Professor of Biblical Studies at Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky. He is author of many books<...

    Listening for God’s Voice and Heart in Scripture: A conversation with Craig S. Keener

    William L. De Arteaga, Ph.D., is known internationally as a Christian historian and expert on revivals and the rebirth and renewal of the Christian healing movement. His major w...

    The Ancient Poisons: Discernment Heresies of the New Testament

    Wolfgang Vondey, Ph.D. (Marquette University) and M.Div. (Church of God Theological Seminary), is Reader in Contemporary Christianity and Pentecostal Studies at the Universit...

    Steven Felix-Jager: Pentecostal Aesthetics